Chinese Overwatch Team Story tournament announced

A new Overwatch event with a $100k prize pool has been announced by Zhanqi TV. The event will feature 16 teams invited to the tournament by the organisers.  The group draw saw 4 teams, NGA, SKG, iG.Fire and VG, being seeded in different groups and the others assigned randomly.The Overwatch Team Story (OTS) will play out from December 2nd to January 8th in Shanghai.

zhanqi-tv

 

The format will consist of double elimination brackets throughout the whole event:

  • Group Stage
    • GSL-style double elim
    • Best of 5s
  • Playoffs
    • Double elimination
    • Best of 5s
    • Final will be played as a Bo7

The schedule for every specific match has not been announced yet, but the overarching structure of the schedule was:

  • Group A
    • December 2nd-3rd – 7pm CST (11am UTC, 6am EST, 3am PST)
  • Group B
    • December 9th-10th – 7pm CST (11am UTC, 6am EST, 3am PST)
  • Group C
    • December 16th-17th – 7pm CST (11am UTC, 6am EST, 3am PST)
  • Group D
    • December 23rd-24th – 7pm CST (11am UTC, 6am EST, 3am PST)
  • Playoffs
    • December 29th-31st
    • January 6th-8th